Back To The (Floor) Barre

After recovering from an injury, I am lucky to have a two weeks-holiday to get back to the point where I will be able to make it through a barre. For the past three weeks, my leg was in plaster, the doctor has not been particularly clear about how much I am allowed to move around and so far I am still wearing a bandage that makes it impossible for me to even point my feet properly. Since I am not that good at sitting around all day though, I was searching every ballet book I found in my room plus lots of youtube videos for floor barre exercises and it turned out that they are not as easy to find as I thought they would. What has been really helpful though is the New York City Ballet Workout as well as the youtube videos of the Scottish Ballet. I ended up putting some pieces for myself together and would like to share some of my exercises with you!

Lying on your back, put your arms to your sides. Make sure your back is fully on the floor, your shoulders are down and you body is relaxed.

Parallel: flex your feet, plié with both legs, extend them again while pointing your feet.
Flex your feet, plié once again, turn out and extend while pointing your feet.
Flex your feet, plié one more time, back to parallel, extend while point your feet.
Plié, turn out, extend while flexing your feet.
Point your feet, plié, back to parallel, extend while flexing your feet.

Turned Out: Tendu front, flex, coupé, up to passé, put back down.
Tendu side, point those feet, coupé, up to passé, put back down.

Turned Out: Retiré, attitude to the front, back to passé, developé to the front, put back down.
Retiré, attitude to the side, back to passé, developé to the side, put back down.
Retiré, developé to the front, flex your toes, point your toes, repeat, flex your foot, point, put back down.

Parallel: Retiré, back down, turn out, retiré, back down, back to parallel, repeat.
Battement turned out, parallel, turn out, turn in, turn out, repeat.

Here we go, that is part of the exercises I will be doing for the next few weeks. I hope this can help you in case you are looking for a way to exercise or just get “the ballet feeling” while you either like to study the basics through floor barre or you are just (like me) unable to stand on only one foot.

Do you prefer the “ordinary barre” or floor barre?
What exercises do you like to do at home?

I hope you have a nice Easter and your egg hunt will be worth it 😉

Leave a Reply

